NOM

For the new year, I decided to take a new route home from work, which would involve more walking in a bid to incorporate more exercise into my life. This new route led to to discover many things around my neighbourhood, which had been around for eons but new and refreshing to me, like beautiful mural art in the void decks, old school playground and even an organic bakery!

Amongst the many discoveries is a new bistro/bakery that just opened in the newly renovated community club. NOM is the name and it stands for No Other Meaning. My mom and I popped by on its opening day (8 Feb ’14) to take a look at the menu. I was excited that they served brunch on weekends and mom was excited at the prospect that she doesn’t need to cook on weekends :s We didn’t eat there on the same day but I arranged with my Dad to try it out yesterday (12 Feb ’14).

wpid-rps20140213_104850_379.jpgAfter work, I made my way to NOM and before I reached the doors, the wait staff who saw me approaching, opened it for me and gave me a friendly welcome. (Well, how lovely!) I picked to sit outdoors as the weather was cool and it was near a place where my Dad can go take a smoke. Water and menu were served shortly after being seated, recommendations were given to me and I was left in peace to mull over the menu and wonder when Dad would arrive (he’d walked from home).

wpid-rps20140213_103939_154.jpg We ordered the roasted bird leg and smoked duck pizza (recommended) for dinner. Condiments like ketchup, Tabasco sauce, chilli sauce, chilli flakes and Parmesan cheese were served promptly with the dishes. The chicken was moist and tender, done to perfection. The accompanying cranberry sauce was not too overtly sweet, but my favourite part of the dish was the mash potatoes! It was made with real potatoes and I could even see bits of skin, none of those instant stuff! *thumbs up* The pizza had a thin crust with some herbs embedded in it, not a plain dough, which made it rather fragrant. The pizza sauce isn’t a normal tomato nor white base but like a plum sauce? The wait staff were attentive and did water refills periodically,  for which I’m quite appreciative of 🙂 The bistro wasn’t fully occupied when we visited, so hopefully, the services would be just as attentive when they get busy next time.

wpid-rps20140213_104111_505.jpgOn NOM’s Facebook (Yeah, I did some internet stalking before going), I saw that they had a caramel pecan cheesecake that looked yummy. (NOM bakes their own cakes! I saw the chef assembling a rainbow cake through the kitchen window.) Even though we were feeling quite stuffed after the chicken and pizza, I ordered a slice cos I am greedy. The cheesecake was fluffy, crumbly and creamy all together. The layer of caramel was thin enough to not overpower the cheesecake and not too sweet (I’ve got a real sweet tooth!). Absolutely adored the NOM customised wooden pan it became in.

wpid-rps20140213_104209_331.jpg Frankly, I’m really pleased a bistro has opened a mere 5-minute walk from my place, although Dad and I took around 20 minutes to get home last evening cos we are like super kaypoh people spending 10 minutes at the dumpster examining a broken chair for salvaging purposes, 5 minutes reading notices at the Resident’s corner and 5 minutes for just walking.  I’ve always envied friends who live in places like Holland Village and Tiong Bahru who can just stroll out and have their pick of bistros and bakeries. Next time, I’m going on a weekend with mom to try their brunch. Dad doesn’t wake up early, so I can also tabao the Chocolate Stout Cake for him as his breakfast 🙂

NOM’s food menu here:

wpid-rps20140213_104253_686.jpgNOM’s drink’s menu here:

wpid-rps20140213_104328_181.jpgNOM’s opening hours here (Cos the website isn’t updated) :

wpid-rps20140213_104739_308.jpgOur dinner was about $33 without drinks, there is no GST nor service charge.

Tipping is encouraged if customers feel that good service was provided and 100% will go to the staff. I’m going to have to remember to get them to add tips to my credit card bill next time.

About ruffiebear

A bear that belongs to a human who enjoys painting nails with colours of the rainbow.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment